Friday, September 30, 2005

Jokes and Practicality

Did anyone catch the “Will and Grace” from last night? I thought that was hilarious. For those who didn’t catch it, it was a live performance where the actors just act for 30 straight minutes. And if they start laughing in between, so be it. And it was quite an outrageous script too.

Grace makes this comment about just going ahead and having an affair and not worrying too much about it. So she says, “I am going to do things and not think about it, Hey! What do you know? I’m George Bush”.

And there was the line where Will tells Malcom that his package is dripping and Malcom says, “ I told you I liked her” and Will clarifies that he was talking about the ice cream package.

Then there was the joke about Malcom shredding some documents in Washington DC because it is “DeLayed”. (If you guys read the news, you might have heard that Tom Delay got indicted yesterday for fraud)

Ok enough about Will and Grace.

I called up my mom yesterday night to ask about how I should be treating my wee little fishes. Her only advice was to let the mommy and other fishes have their fill of them. It was a little bit of an odd advice to be coming from a mommy, I thought to myself, but it was indeed pragmatic and correct. So, oh well.

I had decided to go and buy some fish in order to bring it back and cook today, but unfortunately I was way too lazy and ended up buying some smoked salmon. I hope that I will have the energy to do the cooking today, but who has the time? Life is so complicated. I don’t think I have ever done what I have planned on a Friday evening. Life is too good to be spending cooking at home on a Friday night is what I tell myself each Friday. So I always end up going out to eat. I go out, have dinner come back and call my parents, get dressed and go dancing at the club. It is such a set routine that I can not hope to push some more things like cooking in the middle. Cooking takes at least and hour to two hours for me and so is not an option on a Friday evening even though I guess I could do it along with talking to my mom. But for that I will have to buy a hands-free kit for the phone. Ugh! Why is everything at a price?

Quote of the Day: Everything in life has its cost. Its about picking and choosing what you have the money for and what you don’t.

Thursday, September 29, 2005

Of Life and all else

Aha! My big guppy has finally given birth. I have been waiting for this to happen for a few weeks now. I got up today morning and noticed that the bigger fishes were all chasing really fast moving tiny targets. This woke me up really quickly. After I was able to focus my eyes, I realized that there were quite a few babies. I also moved the rest of the fishes to another tank and left the mommy in the original since the original tank has a lot more stuff for the small ones to hide behind. I stood there looking proudly at mommy who was pushing them out at fast as she could. I saw a few of the little ones being dropped out of the mommy’s tummy. But soon after they became targets for the mommy and were not safe with the mommy. And so I had to catch all the tiny tots and move them to a separate jar. I managed to salvage about 14 of them before I got to work. I feel so content after having done this. There is something serene about a new life beginning. After I had rescued about 10 of them, and the mommy was still going at it, I told myself that if there were some born after I would just let nature take its course. In other words, to let the mommy, eat them. But I just couldn’t keep myself in place and let the little ones be eaten. I just HAD to move them.

I was commenting yesterday that the previous batch looked so small and if they were really growing at all. But after I kept the new batch close to the older batch I realized how big the previous batch had become. Hopefully in another month or so they will be ready to move to the main tank.

Yesterday, I started a new group weight training class. But it wasn’t that much fun. It was mostly introduction to how to work the machines which I kinda already knew. So hopefully from next week, the trainer will be coming around to push us into doing more work to try to push our limits. I did follow up by doing some work on my own by I still did not find myself screaming in agony in the morning. My body still hardly feels stiff. Maybe I am just not working it hard enough. Or maybe this time I followed it up by a visit to the steam room and so the Jacuzzi and so my muscles were more relaxed and not so tense as I expect it to be.

Alright, catch you guys later then!
Quote of the day: Life; Just being. It has its own kicks.

Wednesday, September 28, 2005

Howdy People

Hey Hey people! I am feeling jolly good today. It might have been the long long sleep that I had yesterday night but it has really refreshed me. I really don’t have an update for you guys since I hardly have don’t anything at all. What with all the sleeping.

I did two more interviews today. Nothing spectacular worth mentioning. I just did my routine standard talk and heard the people say whatever until I was done.

I was intending to go to the gym yesterday but had my dinner and everybody knows that you can never feel like going to the gym after dinner. Its not that I get physically sick if I do or anything. Its just that after dinner you just feel lazy and all that you want to do is to slump on the couch and watch TV. Luckily whatever was on TV was really boring and so I decided to go to bed. I should have switched on some David Bisbal music and that would have put me in the mood, but I think I overate a little bit and that might not have helped either for all I know.

My fishes look well. My pregnant guppy still hasn’t given birth. I am waiting with bated breath to see if I can save all of them but I think I am getting bored. My previous batch doesn’t seem to be growing at all. They all look the same size that they looked when they were born. I am kind of frustrated with that. maybe I should learn to feed them something different.

I know. My thoughts are really jumbled today. It’s like I can't stop and think one thing through. Hm…. Too much energy is bad for you too?

Quote: Jump Jump Jump

Tuesday, September 27, 2005

Run Run Run

Mondays have a way of working themselves out. You always have so much scheduled for Mondays that just getting through them seems like the greatest task. I actually got to work by 9 in the morning and saw that I was set to attend about 4 hours of meetings today. I also had two interview calls I had to make.

One of the interviewees was very fun to talk to. In fact during the interview there was loud music cranked up and he had to yell at his roommates to turn it down several times during the interview. I was just laughing to myself each time this happened. I thought it was kind of funny since most people are really stiff during the interview and this guy was really really cool. He took the whole thing really casually and actually asked me questions about why I liked my job. He seemed like a person who put quality of life really high up there and so I ended up describing to him the view from my office room. He sounded like a very outdoorsy kind of guy. This was the only respite from my Monday rush.

I continued on after talking to him to my next meeting which I was late for. I had already sent an email informing that I was going to be late from the interview. After getting done with the set of meetings I came back to my room to think for a second. I seemed like I was going to all these meetings that I didn’t have any particular mid set on what I was going to do today. Well, it was almost time to go home after I was done. While I was thinking about that another person came in and asked for help to try to figure something out. This took almost an hour by which I time I said my excuses and left work. I went straight home and go my gym clothes on and went on to the gym. The nutritionist that I had an appointment with went on and on about what we needed to accomplish in the next month. The trainer then showed my group of what things we were going to be doing in the next month. After about 2 hours of introductions to what we were planning on doing, we finally left without doing anything at all. But since I didn’t nap in the evening I felt like I was going to fall any moment and nap on the floor. That was the amount of energy that I had left.

I drove home. Picked up some food on the way. Sat and ate my dinner, tuna salad with bread, while I watched what I had recorded from Sunday evening. Then I realized that my fishes were not being very good eaters and that a lot of food had been left over. This was causing the water to be really foul. So I decided that I had to change the water. By the time I was done with that, I had no more energy left in me. I just sat there looking at the fishes swim by. Looking at the fishes swim always takes me to a “calm nothingness”. I am not worrying about anything; I have no thoughts, other than when my fish would give birth next. It’s just a simply pleasure of watching the fishes swim. Then my shoulder hurts and I decided that I should probably go to bed. I check email for the last time and then put some music on. I am listening to some Latin music, but after a while it stops and I am still thinking about nothing particular. I can't remember now what it was, but I think it had something to do with how much I needed to workout more in order to stay in shape.

Quote of the day: Maybe all one can do is hope to end up with the right regrets. ~Arthur Miller

Monday, September 26, 2005

Ho Hum

I had a pretty depressing weekend. For the amount of desserts I had I should have been jumping from rafter to roof with all the supposed sugar high. But I really was in no jumping mood. I felt really very down to earth and all I wanted to do was cuddle up in bed and sleep longer. I don’t think there was anything particular that triggered this kind of mood. I think I feel that my life is kind of drifting in a directionless way. The thing is that I really had quite a weekend and there was no reason for me to feel this way.

So Friday night started out pretty normally. I went out for dinner with my friend “TheRock” and another random couple. We went out to have dinner near downtown but realized that it was way too crowded and ended up coming up back closer to home. We had Mediterranean dinner. I had a dip called the mohmarra which was pretty good with the bread. The entrée was Lamb Kabab which I thoroughly enjoyed. I also tasted lamb chops. But I somehow don’t like meat which has bones in it. So I wasn’t very thrilled with the Lamb chops. I went home after dinner and called up my parents in India. (Have you guys tried the Reliance Call India thing yet? you better try it to believe it). My grand dad was in town. I am truly impressed by this octogenarian who makes trips to my hometown by train overnight just to visit friends. My mom however was dreading his visit and whispering things into the phone (it’s her dad) that could not be said aloud due to his presence. I’ve given up trying to make peace between the two.

After the conversation, I went ahead and made my trip to the dance club. Not many people I recognized. I had my drink (non alcoholic, thank you) and talked to the few I knew and went on to the dance floor. Jon was there. TheFire wasn’t. I think I miss him. I don’t want to, but I do. I like to see him dance, I tell myself. I talked to Jon briefly about how bored I was and gave him an excuse about how pre-occupied I was by my work. I finally got invited to some beer party which I politely declined. I had half a mind to ask if someone would have sex with me if I did and wanted to see the inviter’s reaction, but reminded myself that I was standing next to Jon. So I contained my bored warped sense of mischief and went back straight home.

Saturday started out being a really lazy one. I went to work, didn’t do much other than settle some pending work and responses to emails. So I went back home. I live 10 minutes away from work and enjoy the drive, so I keep shuffling back and forth normally. I went back home and took a nap. My friends and I had been planning a pseudo bachelor party for another friend. The party involved dinner, bar and and dance club. So not really a wild bachelor party but a pretty tame one. so eleven of us went out for dinner and I had some grilled chicken over rice pilaf. The organizer had brought beads to wear and I got green long beads to wear.

We all went sauntering down towards downtown after dinner and found the bar really empty. I ran next door quickly which happens to be a gay bar and checked it out for the first time. I knew that Jerry was going to be there with his friend. So I went on ahead and met them. His friend was a lesbian and was going through some rough times apparently. So Jerry was keeping her company. He bought me an apple martini. So after my quick introduction to her, I said goodbye and went back to the bar where my friends were sitting around. Did I mention to you guys that most of my friends do know that I am gay, but some of them didn’t and I was wondering what they were thinking of me right now. But I didn’t really care much. Somehow I had my own though process going through the night. I felt strangely disconnected with the world. Somehow I was in my own world.

Finally I suggested that we should probably go on and move to the dance club. Everybody was in agreement and we walked to the dance club from there. It was kind of boring since the music was really 70s-ish and I wasn’t digging it at all that day. so around one I left. I had promised Jerry that I would be at the dance club and would buy him a drink. So I and “The Rock” left and after I dropped him off, I went on to MY dance club. I finally got there at about 15 minutes before closing time. I search for Jerry and found him chatting with some random guy. I coaxed him into coming to the dance floor with me to dance after he finished his smoke. I really hated the fact that I had to come out into the smoke and get him. But anyways, we danced a while and then I offered his promised drink but he refused since he had to be driving soon. So I got myself a glass of juice. I was disappointed that I didn’t see “The Fire” that day either. Maybe he is sick, I thought to myself. Finally I went home and slept as soon as I got to bed.

Sunday was slow. Got up late, but I decided that I was going to make some ginger tea and I went out to buy some ginger and came back and had my tea with some samosas which I had bought in an Indian store on the way. I am consciously trying to get into a habit of “making” my food. So any small steps in my opinion helps towards that goal. I feel that it has become too easy for me to eat processed food. Later I go to “The Rock”s house for dinner and then to watch “Desperate housewives” with him.

I came back home and finished my laundry before going off to bed. Oh I know. It’s been raining all week. Is that the reason for my depressing weekend? In that case I have a long winter ahead.
Quote of the day: Life is not a bed of roses..

Friday, September 23, 2005

Life is so surreal sometimes

I always look forward to my dance classes on Thursdays. I like my instructor. He is a software professional by day and a dance instructor by evening. He is also very social and fun. He breaks down the steps into easy pieces for others to understand. He also points out all the nice little pieces of mnemonics that help us to remember these pieces. Although I don’t get much practice, I feel that I do quite ok in class. The reason I signed up for these classes is that the instructor does not require people to sign up as couples which is the most common problem I had with other classes. It also gives me a reason to drive to the downtown area.

The drive to downtown always seems so surreal to me. I always take the side roads and its always slow but driving through those roads seems like you can always take time off of your busy life and drive slow listening to some good soft music. Its not the most beautiful country side scene, but the headlights and tail lights might seem beautiful in their own right. The little shops. Been there, been there....been there. Hey! thats new. Need to call BedRock to tell him to plan to go to this new place.

Fall is starting to show up a little here. I can see yellow leaves on trees when I look outside my office window. Some even have a little bit of red. I also felt a little bit chilly last night when I was coming back from the gym. I hope that I can make some small trip to see the Fall colors on some national park this year. Last year I was lazy and didn’t end up going anywhere.

I have to say that I am feeling a little light today. I feel like flying out of my window and taking a nap of the closest cloud. No, I am not high on anything except life itself. :)

Quote of the day: Isn’t life beautiful?

Thursday, September 22, 2005

Let me keep sleeping

I was just plain lazy yesterday. I went to sleep really early at about 9pm since I had nothing better to do. I had been surfing the channels for a while but after a while I just gave up and decided that I had nothing to watch and so I just went to sleep.

I was however rudely woken up by the pager in the morning at about 6:30. I woke up really pissed off and called up reception to find out what was going on. By the time I traced through the chain of phone calls that had resulted in me getting called, I figured out that this issue was something that had already been resolved and needed no action by me. But the result of course was that I was awake at 6:30 in the morning.

So I brewed myself a cup of tea and lay there with my head on the dining table in front of my laptop. I had half a mind to call up the person who called in and yell. And another half to simply hit my head against the table since calling up the person seemed like way too much work. So I simply lay there, taking huge efforts to raise my head and take a sip of the tea.

I have always been hooked to drinking tea since I was very small, since my mom used to wake my brother and me, with a cup of tea in the mornings. Actually reducing to tea from coffee is supposed to be a drastic reduction in caffeine intake for my family. My grandparents take in enormous amounts of coffee every day. In fact they get headaches if they do not take coffee at the right time. They actually plan trips to relatives’ houses and plan all the coffee stops on the way. So even though by American standards I drink a lot of caffeine, I think of myself as a moderate and controlled tea drinker.

Anyway, I finally got up from the table and put on some music on my computer and come back to the table. I made sure that I was not on the couch lest I should go back to sleep. This seemed to pump some energy into my veins since I was shaking my head slowly to the salsa music very soon. Finally after an hour or so I managed to get up and go brush my teeth.

Quote of the day: Someone, please turn on some music and do all my work for me.

Wednesday, September 21, 2005

Desserts, exercise and dancing

I had a long and tiring day. In the morning I went to work all dressed up in a coat and suit for a meeting I had to be in with customers. But by mid day I had come back home and changed and was back to my t-shirt and jeans. I think that that’s the best attire to work in.

Its not that I have anything against other clothes. Its just that jeans are the most casual and are all weather. You wear them when it’s hot and when it’s cold. They are just as comfortable at work or when hiking. You can sit in them and dance in them.

Later in the evening I went out and had dinner with friends. The desserts that we had were really nice. Chocolate with whipped cream, banana fosters ice cream, raspberry flavored crisps and some fruit cake. Good stuff. God only knows how long I have to diet to get that off my chest. I hope I go to gym today and work it off a little bit. I should probably come up with a system of regular days and compensation days, where regular is when I can go to the gym as a regular and I should have a tally which I need to fill out every month. And the compensation times when I eat something that I really should not and then I compensate it with exercise. That way at least I will discourage myself from making too many exceptions.

Quote of the day: Dance is the oldest form of prayer. The circle dance is the oldest form of dance--all early people did it, even animals dance the circle dance, bees and elephants do it. It is our connection with the universe.

Tuesday, September 20, 2005

Mundane Monday

Yesterday was a usual work day. Not stressful but not very interesting either. I went home and cleaned up my fish tank. Now my whole kitchen counter stinks like fish. Interestingly enough I have so far been only looking out for fishes giving birth but yesterday I saw that my snails had been very active indeed. So unfortunately I could not just clean out the entire tank and throw the water out. I had to careful pour the water out and then look out for baby snails. I put the baby snails in with the baby fishes from a week back.

Anyway, today I had the big meeting in my company and was hoping to meet someone I knew and wanted to look good. So I had decided to not eat too much carbs yesterday night. So I chose to eat some grilled chicken with mango pickle.

I checked out some program on public television. I am always hooked on by British detective/mystery programs and so I sat and watched spell bound for the next hour and a half. After I was done, I decided to go hear some Mariachi music. So I found a couple websites that play mariachi music. The best song I like so far is the song called “El Mariachi Loco Quiere Bailar” ( the crazy mariachi wants to dance). It had the catchiest beat and pace.

My shoulder is still aching from the weights I did at the gym on Sunday. I don’t know why I go through so much trouble. Sometimes I just think that the whole thing is not worth doing. See, the problem with me is that I’d rather be bone idle but I also want to eat well. I really don’t like muscular people, but the only reason I do weights is because I want to reduce as much weight as possible. I am a little bit concerned about my eating habits. I feel that I randomly choose to diet in order to look better for one day and then lose it for the next week. Somehow it always manages to come back and bite me, but I always do it. So in fact this time I have signed up for some nutrition and exercise classes over the next one month on Mondays. Hopefully that will help me be more conscious of what I am eating. My exercise also needs to be upped a little bit, but I think its doing ok.

I had a quiet evening by myself. But since I had to get up early today, I went to bed at about 12 but I went to sleep only after 2:30 in the night. I am not sure why I had trouble sleeping. I think it was the nap that I took earlier I the evening. Have I told you guys about the naps that I take every evening after I come back from work? Well, I live really close to work and during some of the crunch time work, I always go back home at 5pm and take a nap for 2 hours before returning to work. But overtime, it became a habit because I always felt fresh after the short nap to do other things like going to the gym, reading etc. so I come back from the gym and watch the TV or read and then go to bed later at about 1 or 2 in the night and wake up around 7 or 8.

Quote of the day:
Not a shred of evidence exists in favour of the idea that life is serious.

Monday, September 19, 2005

Relationships; the sinking feeling

I was invited to go camping on Saturday morning by “Jerry”, but I decided that I did not want to go. There are a few reasons that I did not really want to go. Firstly of them being that I don’t think that he is completely over the crush he had on me. So going on a camping trip just seems a little too fast for us being just friends. Secondly, I don’t like to be around too many strangers and a whole family of people who I don’t know while they all know each other really well seemed a little overwhelming to me. You see, I am really the kind of person who talks a lot with people I am familiar with but even if there is a single stranger in the room I am constantly worried about them forming an opinion about me that I normally end up being really shy. The third reason was of course that Jerry’s sons were going to be there and so feel really odd about meeting them for some reason. Jerry is about 20 years older than I am and his kinds are almost as old as I am. That is just something that makes me feel very uncomfortable. I know that I am just friends with Jerry, but I am not sure that everybody around us will perceive it that way.

Jerry and I have been friends for about three months now. I don’t know him too well, but he is a really nice guy. He had this crush on me which he says he is over since I told him in no minced words that I was not interested in him in that way. But I think he has trouble getting over people who he sees everyday. So I am constantly double checking myself to make sure that I don’t send him mixed signals. I do dance with him on the dance floor a lot typically. But that’s just for fun. At least I hope that’s the way he perceives it too.

But since I had turned down the invitation to go out on this trip with him, I was on the dance floor quite by myself. I met Jerry’s friend “Doubter”. I think I might have hit on him or flirted a little bit with him, because he casually remarked that Jerry was still not over me and I thought that was intended to tell me that he did not want anything to happen between us since Jerry as a friend of ours and we couldn’t do much since we both cared about how Jerry would feel. So that was that.

I did come across “TheFire”. TheFire and I have had a stormy past. Neither of us is really ready for a relationship, but we both like each other. Sometimes I think it is purely physical, but it really is not. Because every time I see him dancing with someone else I feel a little bad. I don’t really know why because he does it all the time. We both know we are attracted to each other and we also know that we don’t want to do anything about it because we don’t want to jinx it. We have been kinda on and off all the time. It just feels like we can never get it right. Then there was the time that I was dancing with Jerry and he got pitch drunk and started behaving odd in that he was kinda avoiding me. When I asked him about it, he burst into tears and then yelled at me some more. I think I gave up on him at that point and decided never to talk to him again. I was so certain mainly because even though I had feelings for this guy, I don’t even know his last name. He and I can hardly understand each other (he speaks only Spanish). So I was a little taken aback by his whole behavior. It seemed to me like things not only didn’t add up but that we both were missing a lot of things.

My friend was telling me when I spoke to her about it that maybe he was just frustrated and that I should be more understanding. But see, he had made it very clear that he didn’t want a relationship. I was of the same state of mind. And the timing didn’t help either. The week before I had been dancing with this Italian who for some reason seemed to be into me and had kinda left the dance floor hand in hand. I am sure he had seen that. And the next week, he saw me giving my number to Jerry and right after that he chooses to have a fight out of nowhere. The reason I just don’t understand this behavior is that I am the shier one. He dances with everyone in the club and so he really has no right to be jealous if I dance once or twice with someone else especially since he is not my boyfriend. If he was, I would drop whoever I was dancing with at his slightest whim. But he was not. So that just bugged me about him.

So anyway, I decided to stop talking to thefire and we were doing pretty well in that endeavour until he finally decided to start talking again. So he came over once when I was dancing by myself and waved a hi. I looked at him, shook my head and went back to dancing by myself. He put his hands up like he didn’t care and walked away. And then I thought that was that and we were done. But then the next week he came over and hugged me. I didn’t hug him back and so he walked away in a huff.

And then this weekend he put his hands forward and I finally shook his hand since I didn’t want to be mad at him anymore. So he leans forward and plants a kiss on my cheeks and says, “It’s good to see you”. So I kiss him back and say “you too”. At this point I’m half amused and half not sure why he wants to be on good terms with me. But I tell myself that I am over him and that I don’t really care what he thinks. I am not sure if I believe that. But we ended up dancing kind of 3 feet away from each other but still together.

Anyway, Jerry keeps telling me that I am not over TheFire. That bugs me even more because I really want to be over him. So I am going to let time take its course. I am just so tired of taking decisions these days especially since things don’t exactly turn out the way you plan them anyway. Oh well.

Other than that, my other entertainments this weekend included a Indian dance recital, which is kinda bunked and went outside the auditorium to a Mexican independence day celebration where there were some mariachi singers singing. It was entertaining to say the least. I was able to understand most of what was going on. Couples of interesting things were that, when the musicians introduced themselves, they were asked to turn around and show themselves off. There was a lesbian couple who was dancing in plain sight of everybody else. I thought that was kinda brave.

On Sunday I talked to Jerry who was telling me all about his camping trip. I was telling him about one of his ex lovers who had been checking me out on the dance floor this weekend. I also talked to ASK, my parents and to DBCA.

Ok then, I will leave you all with a quote from the serial “Born and Bred”.

Quote of the day:
All shall be well,
and all shall be well
and all manner of things shall be well.

Friday, September 16, 2005

TGIF: Thank god it’s Friday.

The radios have been blaring that it’s the independence days for Mexico and some other countries today. So I made a mental note that I should probably go to a Mexican restaurant today. I have to say though that I really dislike Mexican food. I don’t understand why Indians who come to the US like Mexican food. I personally do not see any similarity. I’d rather just go to an Indian restaurant. As far as the spicy argument goes, I think adding chili to anything will make it spicy. But I think a bean burrito is one of the less inspiring things I have eaten.

Yesterday was a Thursday night which means my chore night. So I left early for my dance class from work. I had fun in the dance class. Somehow dancing seems to take the stress out of a long day. But the day was a longer night than just that. I put all my clothes into the washer and dryer and then ironed them after they were done. I also cooked my chicken curry (which is the only dish I know to make) and ate it with some bread. I watched TV while I did all this. I am still hooked on to the Thursday night NBC line up. The new Fall season has just started. It’s not that funny but I still continue to watch it. “Will and Grace” always entertains me.

As regards to cuisine, my tastes are very Indian and yet so un-Indian. There is nothing that can beat my mothers cooking but my favorite cuisine is Thai. Followed closely by Indian-Chinese. Thai food is very popular in my group of friends since it is something that we all can agree on. It can be spicy, it can be mild. It can have noodles, it can have rice. It can have soup, it can have appetizers. It can have coconut and chicken curry, it can have vegetarian curry.

I used to love going to Shansi restaurants when I was a kid. That was probably where my parents gave me my etiquette training of how the fork and spoon should be positioned before and after finishing your plate. No, wait. That was way before. But anyhow…I also love Saravana Bhavan. When I visited San Francisco, the Saravana Bhavan food (its in San Jose me thinks..) was one of the main highlights.

The spiciest food I have ever had was where I least expected it. In an African restaurant. The Chef personally came out and laughed at us after we challenged him to bring out his spiciest stuff. Tears rolling down our cheeks, but our pride intact, we smiled and told him that it was indeed really spicy. So he gave us some honey and sugar and free desserts for trying his food. :)

My regular food involves a salad bar. My mom thinks that a salad bar is a place were people can go and eat leaves. It have tried explaining to her that a healthy salad has few leaves and a lot of other stuff including grilled chicken, ranch dressing and croutons and she doesn’t believe me. So I have stopped trying. I am happy with my regular salad bar and as long as it keeps me from having to cook, I will be happy with it.

Quote of the day: Eat Drink and be Merry, for tomorrow ye diet. (A pun on the old call to war, which ends with - tomorrow you shall die)

Thursday, September 15, 2005

Languages and Me

Yesterday I went home and heard the song “La Tortura” by Shakira. It was one of the best videos I have seen in a while now. I think after listening to the song over and over again, I have finally gotten hooked to the song. I was even trying to download the ringtone on to my cell phone today, but failed miserably. Sometimes I wonder what kind of a computer programmer can’t even successfully buy something on the internet.

Since yesterday was such an uninteresting day I think it might be a good time to tell you guys little more about me. I have always been interested in languages. My family is tri-lingual like any urban family in India, having grown up all around India I think my Hindi is any day better than my Tamil. But English has to be my first language. I know I know, my official mother Tongue is still Tamil, but I swear that other than talking to my parents I have never put it to any good use.

My grand mother even tried to teach my brother and me to read and write but it was never used and we slowly but surely lost all touch with the written part of the language. But we still are comfortable talking it. I have to say that my English is at least a little bit coloured by Tamil and Hindi usages. But I have never considered my self very good at those languages.

I did take French as my second language at some point in my schooling and was very well liked by my French teacher for my interest in the language. It is a very exquisite language. Very smooth and very suave. Makes you feel very sophisticated. But it wasn’t until college that I really fell in love with a language. Spanish was amazing. It’s a very warm and heartfelt language. Passionate and very down to earth.

When I had learnt French i hadnt thought that I could have liked a laguange more. but after spanish, I just felt that french was a little too cold. Spanish gave to me a feeling of naughtiness and fun while being very romantic.

After while when I was working i started learning German. People told me that I wouldnt like german since it is a harsh language, but I had no problems with the "harshness". I think being tri-lingual makes you use a lot of sylables that after some practice i could pronounce german with not much difficulty. But the problem was that the laguage was so unispiring that I was back to me good old spanish within a short while.

I think Spanish has remained my favourite for some time now. I like all things Spanish. The music, the dances and the men. Latin lovers I tell ya, there is nothing more invigorating. ;)

Hasta Mañana then! (Until Tommorow)

(- also appears in lyrics of Viva Forever, my favourite song from Spice Girls)

Quote of the day: Me Gustan todas las cosas hispano. La musica, las danzas y los hombres. (I like all things Spanish. The music, the dances and the men)


Wednesday, September 14, 2005

Hi All,

This being my very first post I would like to take time to actually post a few details about what you could expect from this blog.

I'm an Indian guy who is gay.

The reason I want to post this blog is because i really considered it unacceptable to come out until one fine day I realized that i was one of those lucky ones who really could afford to come out and didn’t know why i hadn’t before. i did consider the lack of knowing Indians who were openly gay as being something that held me back. So I’m hoping that reading my posts will bring someone else to accept who they are and come out. It’s really not as bad as you think.


So while you are waiting to come out, I invite you to taste my life as I see it. Maybe you will like it maybe you won’t. I do hope that reading about someone else a little bit like you, will help you and make you feel that you are not so alone.

I have made a few mistakes in my life and I know I will make some more. So I am definitely not here to tell you how to live your life. But while you are going through life maybe you will just find my blogs just uplifting enough to smile at the end of the day and say to yourself that all will be well.

Quote of the day: Life always has a way of working out.