This weekend was a fun one. I had a completely full social calendar. Friday started out with a birthday dinner for a friend at a nice and fancy Chinese restaurant. The food was good and the nine of us there, had a good time eating. There were two gay guys at the table including me. This other guy had ordered a very desert like Martini. Everybody wanted to try it and the drink went around the table until this one guy, who I have always thought of to be a jerk says, “I don’t want to try it because I don’t drink girlie drinks.” Now, this guy knows that we both are gay and his wife promptly told him to shut up, but I was not very surprised by this because I am used to this style of humor by this guy, but the look of horror on the other guy’s face made me feel that this was supposed to be unusual and that I was taking it too lightly.
Right after dinner I had to rush off to another birthday, so I drove downtown, picked up my friend J, went to the this pub and met another friend R, whose birthday it was. We were having fun talking and doing a little of salsa dancing and generally having fun. The fun also included a tequila shot, a kamakazi and a white russian. I think it was the white Russian that finally got to me. So we decided not to drive over to a dance club and instead just stay and get my drink worn off before I had to drive home which was still a few hours away. So we stayed and met with R’s friends and family, played with balloons and this cute guy Jason who was a friend of her boyfriend’s. I thought he was straight, but he seemed to keep coming over and talking to me for no reason and then he was the one who bought me the kamakazi. Anyways, it was nice to have someone’s attentions and I was flirting away talking things from dance classes to learning new languages. The guy works in sales and was quite the smooth talker. But J now was getting bugged since she didn’t have anyone to talk to. So I ended up talking to her again and the Jason was actually competing for my attention. Finally after a while he was too drunk to really do much and then we both left the pub about 1:30 at night with our respective friends. I went home and called my parents but was too sleepy to really say much. So they let me get back to bed after only 25 minutes of talking!
Saturday, I woke up about mid day and watched some TV from the night before. About 4 in the evening, TheRock called and wanted to go out for dinner. We called around to see if anyone else wanted to go but finding no one, we just decided to get going. So by 8pm we were done with dinner at one of those diner places that everybody seems to be raving about. I found it vaguely interesting only because it had a hippy touch to the diner but the food was normal. LOH had recommended that I try the pie there with vanilla ice cream. I did. I didn’t care much for it but I told him that it was really good anyways on the phone. Well, the ice cream part was good anyways.
After that, my friends M and P who are married to each other wanted to go clubbing and called them to confirm the plans. We had decided to go to a normal club and follow it up with a visit to a new latin club that had opened up in town this week. An exchange student friend of mine from Poland called N wanted to come along and so I, M, P, TheRock and N went to the latin club around 11 in the night. The weird thing about this place was that since it was a latin club, they served about 20 kinds of tequilas and another 20 of magaritas but nothing else. No, Vodka! What was I to do? so I had some tequila shot and didn’t really try it more. P was new to dancing and so I was going through some of the basic steps to salsa, meringue and bachata. But P got tired of dancing within 15 minutes and decided to go sit down and so I danced the rest of the time with N who never got tired. Apparently in Poland she was used to dancing techno all night long and so had a pretty good stamina. I also saw my tango class mate dancing the salsa on the floor who came up to me to say hello. Saturday was done by about 12:30 and we decided to just get home.
Sunday came and I woke up again only by about mid day. I clean the house, tidied up and went and did some shopping. I worked from home for a little catching up of work stuff since I was presenting something for 15 minutes on Monday to about 300 people in a generic staff meeting sort of thing. I went to dance class at about 4. Sunday just went like clockwork, according to schedule. I went to TheRocks house at about 7pm after I had made my fish curry to watch “Desperate Housewives”. H and E were there too. Then I went hoe and got a call from B. He said he was lonely and wanted to sleep over. So the actual story was that his partner and he had been “not feeling in sync” lately. So B makes much less than his partner and they still split the monthly expenses down the center. Now, they recently have started considering buying a house and B’s partner wants to buy it half and half and he simply can't afford to spend 60% of his monthly income for rent. I offered my opinion that they should probably split the Bill according to a percentage of their monthly incomes and B agreed. Unfortunately B’s partner doesn’t seem to be convinced of that plan.
Anyways, B spent the night at my house. Nothing much happened but somehow I am beginning to feel like I am being used whenever he needs to some space in his relationship and I am using him as a one night stand, or at least my version of a one night stand since I don’t feel comfortable with someone who I just picked up in a bar and don’t know anything about. So I know where he lives and that gives me some comfort. He doesn’t pressure me to have sex. Whatever I do is fine with him. I don’t feel particularly affected by him, and neither does he. Mostly I just listen to him complain which I think he appreciates. I know I will never be in a relationship with him and so that rules out me having to deal with messy split up with someone getting hurt.
I woke up Monday morning and left him in my house since I had to rush off to work. This reminds me, I am still meaning to write about a post about open relationships. I am not convinced yet that I can do justice to the topic.
My latest love: Tango Music.