Tuesday, July 11, 2006

Art Fair and Pride

It was pride weekend here and a friend just emailed me saying that she saw me on TV!! Yes, its lame to be excited about that but I sort of am excited. I asked her if I had looked dorky on TV and she hasn’t replied yet. So I am left with my thousand possibilities churning away in my head.

I am going to Dallas on some work this weekend. Should be amusing to go down south in this hot summer weather. Since I am going to be there during the weekend I did try to figure out if there are any local clubs around where I was staying and there doesn’t seem to be any.

The weekend started out normally enough. My mom had called on Thursday night and we decided to have our usual chat from Friday right then. She went on and on about how all the neighbours and their kids. I listened. I agreed. I yawned in an effort to let her know I didn’t particularly care if the guy was 31 years old and still happily rejected all the girls he saw. Oh wait, that one seemed interesting. I suggested to my mom that maybe he simply didn’t wish to be married which my mom shot down immediately. It was just outrageous to her. I agreed some more and then I listened more about how some mother in law went back to her mother’s house because she refused to stay in the same house as the daughter in law which I thought was hilarious and my mom thought I was disrespectful to the old lady. I simply said, if the old lady doesn’t like it so much maybe she should move out of the house and give the others some peace. We argued about it and then I changed the topic.

Friday came and dinner with friends at a nice Mexican restaurant happened. The restaurant was named after the Mexican eccentric painter Frida Kahlo. There were some paintings of her on the walls. I looked around for the dance floor where salsa dancing supposedly happened on Friday nights. I didn’t see one. But as we sat chatting away, the lights suddenly dimmed and all the tables and chairs were taken out from the centre as we watched form the first floor. Black lights turned on and the place actually turned into a nightclub in a matter of minutes. A small bar which we hadn’t previously noticed was almost the centre of attention now and disco lights, lasers, false smoke all were giving us a nice feel. We sat there drinking cosmos. The bartender gave a choice of the Cosmo that will give a headache versus one that won’t. For two bucks extra I chose the one that wouldn’t. And sure enough my Saturday was quite nice. I am totally going for that vodka in the future. Unfortunately I only vaguely remember what the bottle looked like and didn’t bother to ask the bartender what he gave me. And hence my exploration of the topic in my previous post.

Saturday was anything but exciting. I woke up and went shopping for groceries and then got back home and watched a lot of TV. I talked to some friends of mine on the phone and then we early to bed. I was woken up by a call which I decided to skip and since I was awake I left a test message for a friend who recently got married to a co-worker of mine and had come here only 6 months back. She called back after a while and was talking about earlier in the evening and suddenly burst out crying. I listened. And then I said that everything was gonna be alright and that she should just go to sleep and she would feel better in the morning. This was about 10 at night and apparently she had had a fight with her husband over a board game. Anyways, now I was fully awake and had told her that if she wanted to talk she could come over and she refused and said that she was on her way to the gym. So we said byes and I sat watching TV until about 1am when she called again and said that she wanted to come over and I merely said ok. Then she called after another 15 minutes and said that she had talked it over with her husband and that she was fine again. I again simply stated that she should go to sleep and everything was going to be alright. I think I am quite sad when trying to comfort somebody. But that’s pretty much all I could think of to say.

At this point I was tired and went to sleep. Weird Saturday.

I woke up early at 8am on Sunday looking forward to the art fair. I met up with C5J at about 10am. And we roamed around the art fair. I was in my judgemental best and went around telling the artists what I liked and why I liked them. Some looked interested and some had looks that pretty much told me to stay away if I wasn’t buying. I ate lunch at some Thai food stand nearby and had cookies and cream flavoured ice cream. My friend TheRock was there too with his wife roaming around somewhere close to us and we kept bumping into them multiple times. Did I ever tell you guys that his wife is also from BITS?

Just before noon C5J and I left for the gay pride parade. We walked about half hour and go there just before it started. It started. And then it was over. All in like 20 minutes. Completely over. It felt kind of short in spite of all the low expectations I had from it. Anyways, I recognised quite a few faces and I thought that was rather cool. After the parade there was a rally. I found a few friends of mine there. I felt that it being election year it made the whole thing really political and I wasn’t happy about that. But it is kind of cool that all of our elected representatives are progressive and support gay rights. We have the first openly gay congresswomen from here. She is pretty sweet. She finished her speech in 5 minutes and people around me were so awed by her that I felt somewhat strange. You could tell that all the gay people absolutely adored her. Since I can’t vote, I couldn’t have cared less but it was an experience nevertheless. A little too political for me but it wasn’t long so it felt ok. And in all this, they caught me on TV apparently while I was sitting with about 8 or 9 of my friends and chatting away in the dead centre really close to the stage. Now, I haven’t seen this video so I can’t tell you much of it but I was excited about it.

I was so tired by the end of the day that I just went home and slept the rest of the evening. It made for a very tiring weekend.

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home