Monday, June 26, 2006

Happy Pride!

Happy Pride Month people!

I went out with my friends from the Volunteer department on Friday evening. It was a nice evening to start out with. We went to see a play downtown which was actually a compilation of 12 short plays. Before the play I and this Nepalese lesbian Pavitra who actually works for the organisation, went on to have dinner with some of her friends. I recognised one of the group as one of my co-workers. We said brief hellos and after being introduced, we had dinner. Everyone was nice and pleasant. My co-worker commented to me that there was another lesbian at work who had a big poster in her room of two women kissing.

I thought to myself that I would have found that strange even if it had been one man and one woman. But I also thought to myself that I guess gay people have been feeling suppression so long that they feel like they have display that they are openly and that quenches for them the thirst they have felt so long.

There are parades in most cities this time of the year to celebrate pride and each weekend seems to be a celebration in a different city. I was reading about this in a magazine just yesterday, that this year some people had in fact suggested that the pride parades that normally always start off with the leather clad folks and all the freaky folks right after was to be changed to let the families with kids walk in front to give the impression that gay people in fact are normal in wanting families and that this as a starting front would appeal to people who were likely to accept the gay folks when presented in this format. The article then went on to explain that this idea was in fact voted down. The rationale being that this would then appease a lot of people but we would in fact be selling out in the fact that the freakier of folks would still be considered abnormal. While gaining acceptance for 80% of our folks we would in fact we letting 20% of our folks down. So they decided to keep the leather folks. They decided to keep the more colourful characters and said that it might take longer but we will have full acceptance and nothing less. I guess aiming for the sky will at least lead us to the tree top.

Anyways, after dinner on Friday we went onto see the short plays, which were hilarious. The thing about gay themed shows that bugs me is that a lot of the movies are very depressing indeed and I hate depressing stories. I want more inspirational and more funnier shows to be made. The plays were enjoyable in this respect. There was only love, joy and celebration and no pretence of depicting anything related to reality. I love that!

After the plays I saw Mark and Erica who are friends of mine from the Tango showcase. They had been to another play in the same complex. Of late I keep running into them esp since two days later I ran into them again in a grocery store and as I was ralking in the rain carrying my groceries Erica came running and bumped into me with a scream. Shocked as I was, I accused her of stalking me. Both of them grinned from ear to ear and that was that.

After the play Pavitra and I with the rest of the folks went to some bars to pick up a friend of hers who was completely drunk and needed help. We stayed and pavitra got drunk too while I stayed sober to help drive them all back home. We went bar hopping in some of downtown’s finest bars. There was this hunk of a guy who was there with some girl who came up as we sat looking for a friend of ours. He asked if we were looking for him and we replied that that was probably not the case unless he was a flaming gay man. To which he asked me directly as why then I was looking him up and down. I trying not to be embarrassed simply replied, “Oh Really? You’re simply flattering yourself if you think that”. He kept looking me up and down as he passed me the rest of the evening. There was this other absolutely cute frat boy who passed me on the way to the bathroom and came close and whispered, “You’re cute” so charmingly that I could have kissed him right there, but I simply smiled as he walked away. But he had made my day! I think I am going to hang out only in straight bars from now on. :)

Anyways, after a lot of drinking we went and got some pizza at about 2 in the night and then went to some karaoke place. It sucked. Finally I dropped pavitra off at her house at about 3 in the night and got home after that. Exhaustingly long night but truly fun.

2 Comments:

Anonymous Anonymous said...

oy! gawd, its been ages since ive been here, but i made up for the absence by reading up on the backlog! ;-) thought it was fab, how u called over that indian guy's american bf, inf ront of the 'mother-in-law'!!! cheers!
and hey, i sooooo wish i cud be in a pride event sometime! mebbe, when all goes well with my Boy and me... touch wood! ;-)

Tuesday, June 27, 2006 1:34:00 PM  
Blogger Dunce Happy said...

Mahesh - nothing to be jealous of. while i am simply following others you are setting an example. I'm jealous.

Closetalk - Oy! :) touch wood? Couldn't resist that one! sorry. :-
yeah, im quite the pervert when i want to be.

Thursday, June 29, 2006 9:12:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home