Life on a New years day
Now, the coming out to a colleague part was done rather different from the usual ones for me. Normally I just tell people that I like guys and that I have known this for a while and blah blah blah without ever using the “G” word. But this time it was so simple for me. He called to ask and discuss about where to go for new years, and he said that he and his wife didn’t want to go to the event that I wanted to go because it was a gay event. So I replied that he should go to this other club but that I was still going to my event and that my reason for going was that it was a gay event. So he asked, “Why?” and so I replied much amused, “Because I’m gay”. A slight pause later, he continued on without trying to put too much emphasis on what I had said. A minute later he asked me if I had been kidding about me being gay and I said that I wasn’t and that it really wasn’t said in a funny way since I had said it quite matter of factly. So he said “Oh, OK”. And that was that. Now, the thing is that the guy I was talking to already knew I was gay. One of my friends had already told me that he knew. Apparently all the Indians in the company know and have been talking about me for a while now(God knows what they are saying!! i Dont even want to think about it.) and this guy had mentioned that to one of my friends that he knew since everybody was talking about it. So my question is, why in the world did he ask then if he already knew? To corner me as to why I wanted to go to a gay event when he knew I was gay? He just wanted me to be cornered? To feel embarrassed? Is that it? Was he expecting me to make up an excuse and be secretly amused by it? And then these people wonder as to why gay people are so rigidly unapologetic. Anyways, I thnik I just had to vent this out.
The movie “Touch of Pink” I think, is the most relatable movie I have seen so far. Its about this Indian ismaili boy who grew up in Canada and is gay and how he comes out to his mom. Even though I am not exactly the same story, I think I can draw parallels between me and that guy. I know exactly how my mom would react would be like in the movie. In fact I almost feel that whenever I come out to my mom, I should just send her this DVD and make her watch it before saying anything else. I still cannot believe how much I connected to the movie. It was recommended to me by Anurag who is a reader of this blog sometimes. Thanks Anurag!
I had a nice dinner which started out the new years celebrations with two glasses of sangria. The reason I normally like sangria is that it is wine but with fresh juices and that somehow doesn’t feel like an alcoholic drink but like a nice sweet drink. After this I was picked up by my friends the LordOfHearts and Eternalgirlfriend. We also picked up theRock after that and were on our way to the show. The show was mostly an LGBT fundraiser, which basically meant that it was more family oriented and not as much frat boys running around. There were people who normally wouldn’t ever be seen in clubs. So many lesbians. Somehow I think statistically lesbians come to more fundraisers than gay guys. Also, there were those gay families that had children and so the show was very wholesome. It was clean fun with no swear words at all like in the clubs. I think I liked that fact. It was not too over the top and not too boring either. it was just vaguely more professional that a school annual day event but it was a lot of fun.
The usual drag shows happened. I am not really into drag shows but my friend LordOfHearts is. He was really excited. But it was EternalGirlFriend and I that were making all the noise. All of us unanimously liked only one of the drag queen and we cheered each time she showed up. She is a real showgirl. There was another odd thing though that happened. EternalGF is a straight girl and I, of course, am gay. But we both cheered so much for this lesbian female who was dancing. She totally looked like the cutest guy in the whole place. We both stared quite openly at her. She was so flat that you could never tell that she was a girl. She looked like a cute frat boy.
I had pink lemonade with vodka and some shots of tequila with EternalGF. There were some guys from work who were there. One of the guys thanked LordOfHearts for supporting the LGBT cause and made him feel like an outsider. We all danced the rest of the night and were dropped off by LordOfHearts later.
I had a hangover the new years day when I woke up. I took a pill, drank a lot of water and woke up an hour later when my mom called to tell me that I was an uncle. It was the perfect new years. My brother had had a boy. Its the next generation. My first nephew. My brothers and sisinlaws first kid, the first grandchild on both sides. The first great grand child to my grandparents. The Next Generation. I am no longer the smallest. Feels wierd in an odd way. So the rest of the day was spent talking to them in India and seeing pictures. I so wanna have a kid. My own toy! I think it’s worth the trouble. I think I’ll make a good dad, or would that be a mom? Well whatever. I think I’ll be good. :)
Thoughts: Life!

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home